Media advisory

World climate leaders meet in Copenhagen for May Ministerial

Published 06-05-2022

The COP26 and COP27 Presidencies will be convening a Ministerial on May 12th and 13th in Copenhagen. Hosted by Denmark, the meeting will provide the opportunity for Ministers to discuss practical action and progress on implementation including in response to commitments from the UNFCCC, the Paris Agreement, previous Conferences of the Parties, and most recently the Glasgow Climate Pact and related declarations and pledges from COP26.

WHAT: 2022 May Ministerial on Implementation (in-person and partly hybrid event)

WHO: The Ministerial will be co-chaired by British COP26 President Mr. Alok Sharma and Minister Sameh Shoukry from the incoming Egyptian COP27 Presidency. Executive Secretary of UN Climate Change, UNFCCC, Patricia Espinosa, will be in attendance. Danish Climate Minister Dan Jørgensen is hosting the Ministerial while prominent climate leaders and key decision makers from all over the world will participate in the event.

The May Ministerial is organized by the COP26 and COP27 Presidencies along with the Danish Ministry of Climate, Energy, and Utilities.

WHEN: Thursday, 12 May, and Friday, 13 May 2022.

Press conference Friday at 13:30 CEST.

WHERE: Moltke’s Mansion (Dronningens Tvaergade 2, 1302 Copenhagen, Denmark) and online via livestream.

REGISTRATION: Remote connection via livestream will be available; please register for the press conference at Please state name, organization, email and phone number, and whether your attendance is in-person or virtual. Link for the livestream will be distributed on Friday, May 13.

WHY: For the first time since COP26 in Glasgow, climate leaders from across the world convene at the May Ministerial in Copenhagen to discuss the commitments of the Glasgow Climate Pact. The meeting will provide the opportunity for Ministers to discuss the practical action needed to drive progress on implementation going forward.


Esther Margrethe Lynard, press advisor at the Danish Ministry of Climate, Energy, and Utilities,